Diversity at work on America's opinion pages

(Previously "Minority editorial board members at newspapers and television outlets") (updated 1/26/2016; minor update 6/3/16)

This page was current during summer 2016; AOJ is merging into the American Society of News Editors by Jan. 1, 2017.

Header and permission

Categories (internal links within the list)
African-American
Hispanic
Asian-American
Native-American 

Menu and site map

The menu below links to navigation-indexed public pages on our evolving site. Nearly all pages are mobile-responsive. Log in as a member to see some select members-only pages.

Some public pages are not on the menu; use the manual expanded index on the Sitemap page.

(top of page)  (copyright and contact info) (updated 2/8/16)


Diversity at work on America's opinion pages

This page was current during summer 2016; AOJ is merging into the American Society of News Editors by Jan. 1, 2017.

(Previously "Minority editorial board members at newspapers and television outlets")

Compiled by members of the Association of Opinion Journalists.

© 2015-16 AOJ; journalists and their allies may use it for professional non-commercial purposes but must refrain from spamming or selling.

Categories (internal links within the list)
African-American
Hispanic
Asian-American
Native-American 

List organizer is AOJ diversity chair Richard Prince richardprince_at_hotmail.com
Web co-admin is John McClelland
john.r.mcclelland_at_gmail.com
(Humans, replace underscores and at with the @ sign; this is a spam-buster practice to deter commercial trolling.)

EPE means editorial page editor.

Caution:
Links will open in the same window or tab depending on your browser; you may need to use your Back button or an alternate browser tab to return to the list.

Categories (internal links within the list)
African-American
Hispanic
Asian-American
Native-American

African American

Leona Allen, Dallas Morning News  http://dallasmorningviewsblog.dallasnews.com/author/ldallen/

Nancy Ancrum, Miami Herald (Editorial board editor)  http://www.miamiherald.com/opinion/editorial-board/article1933442.html

Max Anderson, Democrat and Chronicle, Rochester, N.Y., community conversation coordinator.  http://static.democratandchronicle.com/roc/editorial-board/ 

Charles M. Blow, New York Times, visual op-ed columnist.  http://topics.nytimes.com/top/opinion/editorialsandoped/oped/columnists/charles_m_blow/index.html?scp=1-spot&sq=%22Charles%20M.%20Blow%22&st=cse 

Alberta Brooks(Phillips), Austin American-Statesman  http://www.statesman.com/staff/alberta-phillips-brooks/ 

Sharon Broussard, Northeast Ohio Media Group (Plain Dealer, Cleveland) http://connect.cleveland.com/staff/sbroussa/index.html and http://www.cleveland.com/opinion/index.ssf/2008/10/the_plain_dealer_editorial_tea.html 

Roger Brown, Florida Times-Union, Jacksonville http://jacksonville.com/users/roger-brown

Dawn Bracely, Buffalo News http://www.theopedproject.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=97&Itemid=129

Jonathan Capehart, Washington Post https://www.washingtonpost.com/people/jonathan-capehart

James Causey, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, editorial columnist, writer http://www.jsonline.com/blogs/news/UncommonCausey.html

Rick Christie, Palm Beach Post (EPE) http://www.palmbeachpost.com/staff/rick-christie/ 

Sherri Day, Tampa Bay Times http://www.tampabay.com/writers/sherri-day

Jarvis DeBerry, Times-Picayune, New Orleans, editorial writer and columnist http://connect.nola.com/user/jdeberry/index.html 

Lewis Diuguid, Kansas City Star, columnist, editorial board member http://www.kansascity.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/lewis-diuguid/#navlink=subnav

Byron Dobson, Tallahassee Democrat http://www.tallahassee.com/opinion/byron-dobson/

Tara Trower Doolittle, Austin American Statesman (EPE, or Viewpoints editor) http://www.statesman.com/weblogs/viewpoints/2014/jan/14/heres-inside-scoop-trower-doolittle/ 

Marietta English, WXYZ-TV Detroit account executive, sits on editorial board.  http://www.abcactionnews.com/web/wxyz/news/politics/editorials

Vanessa Gallman, Lexington (Ky.) Herald-Leader (EPE)  http://www.kentucky.com/opinion/editorials/article44776638.html

Robert George, New York Post http://nypost.com/author/robert-george/

Charita Goshay, The Repository, Canton, Ohio, columnist and reporter http://www.cantonrep.com/article/20151122/OPINION/151129951

Stephen Henderson, Detroit Free Press (EPE)  http://archive.freep.com/article/99999999/COL33/90813027/About-Stephen-Henderson

Andre Jackson, Atlanta Journal-Constitution (EPE) http://www.ajc.com/staff/andre-jackson/

Harold Jackson, Philadelphia Inquirer (EPE) http://www.philly.com/philly/columnists/harold_jackson 

Allen Johnson, News & Record, Greensboro, N.C. (EPE) http://www.greensboro.com/blogs/thinking_out_loud/

Denise Johnson, Star Tribune, Minneapolis http://www.startribune.com/bios/119146939.html

Marcia Lythcott, Chicago Tribune (op-ed page editor).  http://articles.chicagotribune.com/2013-08-07/opinion/chi-editlythcott_1_speed-bump-traffic-circle-traffic-light

Bill Maxwell, Tampa Bay (Fla.) Times http://www.tampabay.com/writers/bill-maxwell/ 

Byron McCauley, Indianapolis Star;  content coach; community press/community recorder http://www.cincinnati.com/story/opinion/editorials/2015/05/15/new-addition-enquirer-editorial-board/27369923/

Jim Mitchell, Dallas Morning News http://dallasmorningviewsblog.dallasnews.com/author/jmitchell/ 

Caille Millner,  San Francisco Chronicle http://www.sfchronicle.com/author/caille-millner/

Tony Norman, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, columnist, editorial board http://old.post-gazette.com/columnists/bio_norman.asp 

Clarence Page, Chicago Tribune, columnist, editorial writer http://www.chicagotribune.com/chi-081001clarence-page-bio-htmlstory.html

Jason Riley, Wall Street Journal http://topics.wsj.com/person/R/jason-riley/5678

Eileen Rivers, USA Today http://www.usatoday.com/reporters/opinion.html

Erika D. Smith, Sacramento Bee  http://www.sacbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/erika-d-smith/

Brent Staples, New York Times http://takingnote.blogs.nytimes.com/author/brent-staples/

Chuck Stokes, WXYZ-TV, Detroit http://www.wxyz.com/about-us/staff/chuck-stokes

Spencer Whitney, San Francisco Chronicle,  assistant editorial page editor. http://www.sfchronicle.com/author/spencer-whitney/ 

(back to categories index) (top of entire page)

Hispanic  

Brian Calle, Orange County Register (Opinion editor) bcalle@ocregister.com  http://www.ocregister.com/common/archives/?catID=19857

John Diaz, San Francisco Chronicle (EPE)  http://www.sfchronicle.com/author/john-diaz/

Veronica Flores-Paniagua, Houston Chronicle, Outlook editor http://blog.chron.com/chronopinion/author/veronicaflores/

Al Franco, Desert Sun, Palm Springs, Calif., engagement editor/opinion and social  http://www.desertsun.com/staff/26243/al-franco/

Mariel Garza,  Los Angeles Times http://www.latimes.com/la-bio-mariel-garza-staff.html

Ernesto Londono, New York Times  http://takingnote.blogs.nytimes.com/author/ernesto-londono/

Patricia Lopez, Star Tribune, Minneapolis http://www.startribune.com/patricia-lopez/10645321/

Gloria Padilla, San Antonio Express-News gpadilla@express-news.net 

O. Ricardo Pimentel, San Antonio Express-News (editorial columnist) http://www.expressnews.com/author/o-ricardo-pimentel/ 

David Plazas, Tennessean, Nashville; opinion engagement editor http://www.tennessean.com/staff/10042282/david-plazas/

Dante Ramos, Boston Globe, deputy editorial page editor https://www.bostonglobe.com/staff/ramos 

Gissela SantaCruz, Austin American-Statesman, editorial writer and columnist http://www.statesman.com/staff/gissela-santacruz/

Robert Seltzer, San Antonio Express-News, public editor and editorial board member  http://www.expressnews.com/author/robert-seltzer/

Bianca Torres, Seattle Times http://nahj.org/seattle-times-welcomes-first-latina-editorial-board-member/

Rachel Uranga, Los Angeles News Group  http://www.presstelegram.com/editorialboard

Juan Vasquez, Miami Herald http://www.miamiherald.com/editorial-board/ 

Luisa Yanez, Miami Herald http://www.miamiherald.com/editorial-board/ 

(back to categories index) (top of entire page)

Asian American 

Vikas Bajaj, New York Times (business, international economics)  http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/opinion/editorialboard.html 

Mike Hashimoto, Dallas Morning News  http://dallasmorningviewsblog.dallasnews.com/author/mhashimoto/

Thuan Le Elston, USA Today http://www.usatoday.com/reporters/opinion.html

Amitabh Pal, Progressive Media Project (“the op-ed service I'm the co-editor of, doesn't have an editorial board per se, but I'm certainly one of the main staff.”)  http://progressive.org/users/amitabh-pal

Michelle Poblete, USA Today  http://www.usatoday.com/reporters/opinion.html

Foon Rhee, Sacramento Bee, Associate editor, editorial writer and Viewpoints editor http://www.sacbee.com/opinion/opn-columns-blogs/foon-rhee/ 

Masaru Tamamoto, New York Times (international affairs) http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/opinion/editorialboard.html 

Thanh Tan, Seattle Times, multimedia editorial writer http://www.seattletimescompany.com/editorial/staff.htm 

James Dao,  op-ed editor, New York Times 
http://www.nytimes.com/2016/01/06/business/media/james-dao-to-become-new-york-timess-op-ed-editor.html?ref=media

Terry Tang, New York Times, deputy editorial page editorhttp://www.nytimes.com/interactive/opinion/editorialboard.html

(back to categories index) (top of entire page)

Native American

Karen Lincoln Michel,WISC-TV, Madison, Wis.  http://www.channel3000.com/madison-magazine/business-city-life/33546670

### (back to categories index) (top of entire page)


(Contact info for reaching us) (Menu-sitemap) (Page index) (top of entire page)

(c) Copyright 2014-15-16 Association of Opinion Journalists

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software